University Ethics Committee

The University Ethics Committee serves as an advisory board for the development, implementation, and assessment of policies, standards, programs, research, and education concerning the University’s ethical values, ethics culture, and ethical decision-making practices.  The University Ethics Committee works in partnership with various University units and groups, including the Rock Ethics Institute, Ethics and Compliance Council, Office of Ethics & Compliance, Board of Trustees, President, and administration of the University. The University Ethics Committee meets monthly and is composed of the following members:

Katherine M. Allen
Associate General Counsel, Office of General Counsel

Timothy R. Balliett, Ph.D.
University Ethics Officer, Office of Ethics and Compliance; Affiliate Assistant Professor of Education (Educational Psychology), College of Education

Denise Sevick Bortree, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Advertising/Public Relations and Director, Arthur W. Page Center for Integrity in Public Communication, College of Communications

Frank T. Guadagnino
Vice President for Administration; Secretary, Board of Trustees

John W. Hanold, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research and Director, Office of Sponsored Programs

R. Keith Hillkirk, Ph.D.
Chancellor, Penn State Berks; Dean, Berks College; Professor of Education

Douglas R. Hochstetler, Ph.D.
Interim Director of Academic Affairs; Professor of Kinesiology, Penn State Lehigh Valley

Ben Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Rock Ethics Institute, and Lecturer, Department of Political Science, College of the Liberal Arts

Brianne Pragg
President, Graduate and Professional Student Association; Ph.D. candidate, Sociology and Demography Program, Department of Sociology and Criminology, College of the Liberal Arts 

Damon Sims, J.D.
Vice President for Student Affairs; Affiliate Associate Professor, College of Education and Penn State Law

Linda K. Trevino, Ph.D.,
Distinguished Professor of Organizational Behavior and Ethics & Director, Shoemaker Program in Business Ethics, Smeal College of Business

Candice A. Yekel, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research; Director, Office for Research Protections; University Conflict of Interest Officer